Pilih Laman

Yogyakarta Special Region is one of the autonomous regions in Indonesia. The administrative city of this region is Yogyakarta city. This area is located on the island of Java on the southern coast. It borders with by the province of Central Java on three sides and with the Indian Ocean on the south side. Total population is 3,802,872 based on the 2018 survey. Javanese are residents of this area and the majority adheres to Islam (83.22%), Christians and Catholics (15.65%), Buddhism (0.29%), Hinduism (0.20%).

The Ngayogyakarta Hadiningrat Sultanate was founded in 1755 by Prince Mangkubumi, known as Sultan Hamengku Buwono I. Since then, Yogyakarta has a system of the Sultanate government. Yogyakarta gained its status as a Special Region due to the historical sequences of the founding of this province, both before and after the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of Indonesia. The city of Yogyakarta obtains a predicate as the city of culture because the city has a number of palaces and relics of the past kingdoms which are still well preserved. It also has many centers of arts and culture, including batik villages.

The city of Yogyakarta is known as a student city whose universities hold an important role in education in Indonesia. Yogyakarta is the second largest tourist destination after Bali. Various types of tourism objects are developed in this region, such as nature tourism, historical tourism, cultural tourism, and educational tourism.


Images of region:

Images of batik motif region:


Cities of the region